The New Jersey Cannabis Market

New Jersey is a METRC compliant state. Brytemap specializes in METRC compliance across the nation and understands each states specific nuances making reporting a second thought for cannabis growers, dispensaries and retailers.

Marijuana in New Jersey

Recreational marijuana was legalized in New Jersey in 2021.

Question 1 added an amendment to New Jersey’s constitution that legalizes recreational cannabis, for people 21 and older and legalizes the cultivation, processing, and sale of retail marijuana. The constitutional amendment will take effect on January 1, 2021.[1]

The five-member Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC), which was first established to oversee the state’s medical-marijuana program, is responsible for regulating the cultivation, processing, and sale of recreational marijuana.[1]

Question 1 applied the state sales tax (6.625 percent) to recreational marijuana but prohibit additional state sales taxes. The state Legislature was authorized to allow local governments to enact an additional 2 percent sales tax on recreational marijuana.[1]

The ballot measure did not provide additional specifics, such as possession limits, home-grow rules, and retail regulations; rather, the legislature and CRC needed to enact additional laws and regulations.


Children under the age of 18 can use medical marijuana in Oregon if they have one doctor’s certification and a parent or guardian acting in the role of caretaker.

Qualifying Conditions

Approved debilitating medical conditions include:

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Anxiety
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Pain
  • Dysmenorrhea
  • Glaucoma
  • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
  • Intractable skeletal spasticity
  • Migraine
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and Acquired Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
  • Terminal illness with prognosis of less than 12 months to live
  • Tourette Syndrome

Cannabis Use

Medical: Yes

Recreational: Yes

Reciprocity: Yes

Possession Limits:  3 ounces in a 30 day period unless the patient is terminal in which case the amount is unlimited

Personal Growing Limits: Zero


  • Flowers
  • Concentrates
  • Seeds/Plants

Important State Links

New Jersey Cannabis Program Rules


The following are the laws, regulations, and guidelines that define and govern the Medicinal Marijuana Program in New Jersey.COVID-19 Waivers and Guidance



Other Guidelines:


 Operated By